Skip to content

Raspberry Pis

November 24, 2014

I’ve been doing a lot of IT stuff lately. I’m not IT, but not having a dedicated IT person on staff and me being the Virtual Services Librarian means that I get a lot of IT stuff to do.  Which is fun.

Over the last couple of days, I’ve been poking around at the idea of installing two additional end-cap OPAC terminals in our Adult Section. Our Admin has expressed a desire to do this, and I suggested using Raspberry Pis as a way to make the project more affordable. A RPi is about $100 after you get all the stuff, versus a $300-$600 computer. Easy choice, right?

But I wanted to make sure that both myself and our bimonthly IT guy would be able to handle it. Then I had to put something together to convince my Admin and our VS Committee that we could handle it.

Here ’tis: 

It would, of course, mean teaching myself Linux. But that’s okay. Heck, I might do it anyway, because RetroPie looks pretty sweet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

