Skip to content

Holy Sexy Stereotype, Batman!

April 5, 2012

I am far from the first person to write about librarian stereotypes, and I know I won’t be the last.  But last night, I saw a commercial for Lenscrafters that made me squint.

A little bit of research led me to this YouTube video, where the company is PearlVision and the scene is longer, but the relevant content is the same:

I’m not sure how I feel about it.  The “sexy librarian” stereotype has been around for, well a long time, but anyone in the biz can tell you that the last thing they want is some patron ogling them.  I know that I’ve made decisions regarding what I’ll wear to work based on the remote possibility.  For instance, I once wore a pair of bright yellow heels (which I adore), but when a random patron commented on them while I was helping someone at the copier, I vowed to never wear them to work again.  It’s probably a fault of mine (confidence?) and not the patrons, but still.  I’d just prefer to not have those awkward moments.

But glasses?  Glasses are another issue entirely.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

I’ve had my glasses for over a year now.  I purchased my frames at EyeMart after my previous geek-specs were accidentally destroyed in an altercation with a hooded sweatshirt.  I had wanted a pair of cat’s-eye frames and had been shopping around for an actual pair of vintage frames I could get lenses put in, so I was very happy when Eye-Mart had frames that were in a similar style.

The commercial implies that the glasses are what make the naughty librarian naughty – and they’re not even that reminiscent of early or mid-19th century library stereotypes.  If anything, they fall more in line with the Buddy Holly, geek-chic style.

The more pertinent point is that I like my glasses. This look is a good look for me, and having it labeled (even in this small way) as being part of a stereotype I have actively tried to avoid…yeah, it bothers me.

But the whole discussion seems like a perfect segue into this tumblr, which came through  my Google+ feed yesterday: This is What a Librarian Looks Like.  Sadly, I think that the majority of people who look at it will be – you guessed it – librarians.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2015 10:33 am

    You look good in those glasses. Wear what makes you happy. Yellow pumps too 🙂

Leave a Reply

