Skip to content

Hungry Hungry Hunger Games!

March 22, 2012

I’ll be missing the staff trip to go see the Hunger Games on opening night because I’ll be driving to Wisconsin, but today the library had a potluck inspired by The Unofficial Hunger Games Cookbook.  I made Mrs. Everdeen’s Rabbit Stew, but substituted chicken for rabbit, since it is difficult to find out here and I didn’t want to drive two hours and spend thirty-plus dollars on a rabbit I’d have to de-bone.

My mad scientist foodie husband suggested I add some water to it, which seemed to thin it out a bit.  Hopefully that will make it go further.  1/4 a cup of port wine and the juices from the tomato/bacon probably aren’t enough on their own to really make this a “stew.”

There are a lot of other really yummy things here as well.  Like the cheesy buns. And the banana bread.  And the lamb stew. And and and… I’m so full and I didn’t even get to taste everything.  And I don’t want to do as they do in the Capitol… Even just standing in the break room is awesome, because of all the beautiful smells.

When the book came in, we passed it around staff so that people could lay claim to recipes.  All in all, I think the potluck was a great success.  I know I’m as full as any happy Capitol Brat.

But it got me thinking about other cookbooks based on literature.  I’m super excited for a Feast of Ice and Fire, personally.

Random blog post is random!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    March 22, 2012 12:04 pm

    I’m trying to come up with a cookbook for a series that hasn’t made the transition to screen (be it small for GoT or big for Hunger Games). Harry Potter and Twilight both have cookbooks, as does Lord of the Rings, but the books had already spawned successful film adaptations. And there’s a Shakespeare Cookbook due out this summer.

    Oh! Got one! Leaves from the Inn of the Last Home, a tie-in to Dragonlance, while not solely a cookbook does have a recipe section (and preceded the movie by two decades).

Leave a Reply

