Skip to content

Ripping the Bodice and Hitting the Books

June 17, 2011
tags: , ,

In between taking one class last semester and the expanse between the end of said class and the beginning of summer, during which I am cramming two courses into a ten-week period, I started a blog designed to rip historical romances apart at the seams.

Only not really, even if some of the books I (1) bought from the Friends of the Library, (2) rescued from the withdrawal pile, or (3) were given to me by fun-loving coworkers aren’t in the best of shape.

I haven’t updated it in awhile, but not for lack of wanting to.  I haven’t had a lot of time to read more of the novel.  Spring, for me, was full of activities – event planning, event participation, commission work (that still isn’t done – please don’t stomp me under your cha-cha heels!), and miscellany.

I have a life that has enough miscellany in it to be categorized as miscellany.  Is that something to be proud of?

Anyway, I wanted to write to say that I do plan to continue to rip the bodice of Johanna Lindsey’s Silver Angel. Just not right now.  Because right now I’m reading about face-to-face reference interviews and figuring out just how to get Dialog to do what I want.

This summer I’m taking Reference and Information Services and Online Searching.  It’s quite a bit of content to cram into ten weeks of brain-space.  I’m excited though – really excited.  RaIS gives me plenty of opportunities (as one of a handful of people who work in a library) to share experiences as well as apply what we’re discussing to my every-day working environment, and OS has just enough code to spark the puzzle-solver part of my brain that’s already used to former search queries and pearl-building.

On top of everything else, I’ve decided that I need to learn MySQL and potentially PHP.  I’ve designed a database using Zoho Creator, and it will work its purpose (for now), but I want to know how to build my own database using Drupal.  I found a way to do so (which I will hopefully be able to apply to one of my workplace’s endeavors), but it’s not the same.  Still, one way is not always the best way, and I need to know the notes before I can start playing improvisational jazz.

And today I scheduled my classes for Fall 2011.  Due to bureaucracy being what it is, I was three days late to register for fall, but I got into Web Usability – which I’m psyched about.  I didn’t get into the other sections I wanted, and it got to the point where the only class on my “to take” list that hadn’t been wait-listed was Marketing of Information Products and Services.  Which is cool.  I’m sure I’ll learn a lot, and since both require different skills, there’s the potential that I won’t feel incredibly overwhelmed.

Did I mention I have to make a pathfinder for RaIS?

It’s going to be about zombies.

(Imagine me scampering away making Dr. Zoidberg sounds, if you please.  I’d appreciate it.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

