Skip to content

Bookends

September 22, 2010

Figure 1: Marti's Office Bookshelf (Please disregard my creepy-glee for that particular codex of collective nouns.)

When I first set out to create this blog, I brainstormed with my favorite collaboration companion about what to do.  He adamantly advocated for a blog themed not on library school

or even libraries in general, but on bookends.  If I remember his proposal correctly, his intention was that I would write about the first two things, but that every week I would also review a set of bookends.  He thought that, with this goal, I would be forced to write a weekly post (and he knows far too well how quickly my sticktoitiveness can lapse), and that I might even be sent bookends to review.

For the record, I personally do not own any bookends.  The bookshelves in my home are packed so tightly that there are books on top of books.  I humbly present Figure A, which depicts not only a new acquisition to the already bursting bookshelf in my office, but said bookshelf in the background.  What you can’t see are the books on my desk-hutch, or the books that fill the shorter shelf to the right of me in the picture.  I don’t have need of bookends, even though I would be pleased to have some.

Especially if they were halfway as nifty and geektastic as the following:

Dig the selection posed with these amazing Aperture Science-themed bookends: Brave New World, Foundation, The Stranger, Symposium, Fear and Trembling, The Gay Science, and Fight Club.

I’m sure I’m not the first person to re-post the Portal Bookends that have yet to hit the market, despite the drooling of gamers across the globe, and I’m equally sure I’m not the last.  Someone needs to buy the rights and produce these babies.   I’d proudly frame my science fiction in them.

That’s another thing about nifty bookends on the web – almost as interesting as the sculptures themselves (because let’s face it, they’re a form of functional art) are the way the photographers/marketers chose to display them.  If they are with books, what books are they?  If they are not with books… why not?!

But I know, I know. You want to see more bookends, not listen to me ramble.

Star Wars Mos Eisley Cantina Bookend Set

Uncrate.com links this to ThinkGeek, but it must not be available any longer.  It makes me want action shots even more.  Still, I don’t think that either of those blasters will do Han or Greedo any good if they have a shelf of James Luceno novels between them.

Sandman Bookends designed by Martk Buckingham and sculpted by Mike Locasio

Now these – these are bookends.  Seriously.  Click on the picture to go to where they are listed with pride on DC Direct so you can see more beautiful pictures of these stunning pieces.  There are other Sandman bookends depicting Cain and Abel and Morpheus in his “light” and “dark” incarnations, but this one is by far my favorite.  Too bad I don’t have a spare $250 lying around, or I would gladly find space on my shelves for this pair.

While I wrote this post to please my aforementioned friend as much as I did to share the beautiful bookends I’ve recently stumbled across, I don’t know if I won’t write a similar post in the future.  It seems that ever since that conversation I have randomly encountered more bookends than I can ever remember.  Maybe the Fates are trying to tell me something.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

