Skip to content

Spring 2013 Classes – So far, So good!

February 7, 2013
tags:

I’m less than a month into my final semester of coursework at SJSU, and I’m loving it so far.  Juggling three classes and three part-time jobs is difficult, yes, but each class is incredibly interesting and (thankfully) has its own day of the week when assignments are due.

I was intimidated by the Drupal course at first, since I wasn’t sure how it would be taught.  Our first, mandatory Collaborate session was basically a walk-through on how to set up a domain, hosting, and install Drupal.  This was awesome.  Each lecture is like this – a walk-through on how to accomplish the tasks given in the homework.  Given, the walk-through is basic, lacking any bells and whistles students may wish to play with, but that’s okay!  It’s like having the anchoring rope when you go rock climbing.

Next week in Services for Young Adults, we’ll be evaluating programs to see how they line up with the developmental needs of teens – and I’m psyched about this!  Talk about the nitty-gritty of library services.  In History of Books and Libraries, we’re using Quia.com for our weekly assignments, which serve as study guides (of a sort) for our various assigned pieces of the weekly content.  We’re in the middle of Middle Age Manuscripts, which I’m totally stoked about.  I still need to pick a manuscript for my larger project.  There are so many nifty ones out there, and there’s always Northwestern’s Special Collections a short drive away.

In short, there’s a lot to keep me busy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2013 9:54 pm

    I still need to pick a manuscript for my larger project. There are so many nifty ones out there, and there’s always Northwestern’s Special Collections a short drive away.

  2. February 20, 2013 9:29 pm

    Hi Marti. Just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say hello. I’m also in the SJSU SLIS program— I’m in Michael’s TransTech course and I’m adapting some info from your Prezi presentation, which is how I found your blog!

    Good luck with your final semester!! I’m in my 2nd to last semester myself. Three part time jobs seems intense though, more power to you.

    -Danielle

    • February 21, 2013 1:08 pm

      Hi, Danielle! Michael’s course was a lot of fun for me. If you need anything Prezi-related, just holler! I still have the site up, so if something is broken, I can fix it.

      And yeah, life is pretty intense right now, but in a good way. Good luck to you this semester, and in the future! (And don’t be a stranger. :D)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

